Prepared

5 Dec

I went just an hour or so ago and picked up my race packet for tomorrow’s half marathon. Did I mention I’m running a half marathon? Well, I am. It’s the first one I’ve ever raced, and I’m really just aiming to run it in a good time, enjoy myself, and making some good memories. I know I’m not fast, and I’m okay with that. I run because it makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something, and often amazes me that my body can carry me so many miles.

I’ve got my sports beans to give me that bit of energy I’ll need to push hard through the last 3 miles. I’ve got my iPod playlist all set to go with 42 songs (Social D, Dropkick Murphys, Distillers, Flogging Molly – punk songs are short, so you need about twice as many) strategically planned to pump me up right when I’ll start slagging. I’ve even got new running gloves and a new headband to keep my extremities warm, since it will be right around freezing temps when the race starts.
Now all I’ve got to do to finish prepping is wash my running tights, carb load, and get a good night’s sleep. Here in a while I’ll be making some chicken spaghetti and garlic bread.  
Wish me luck, and leave me any bits of advice in the comments!
Thoughts?

