Baked Potato Soup

24 Oct

Things I have done since the last time I blogged (sorry it’s been so long!):


1. Had a meeting with my thesis advisory committee.  So far things look good, and I just might be able to graduate in May.  Still keeping my fingers crossed.


2. Ran a total of 48.36 miles.  Then, popped a huge blister on one of my toes.  Seriously, the blister had it’s own blisters, and wound up being like, 5 mm thick when I peeled back all the skin.  Hurts much less now, though!


3. Campaigned for my presidential nominee of choice!  Attended a rally for my VP of choice! Annoyed GP with too much talk about politics.  


4. Read a few books: Odd Hours, The Soul Thief, Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress.


5. Cooked a few meals, several of which may or may not have been frozen pizza.  This one, however, is not frozen pizza. Neither is it really healthy, but I don’t really care.  I wanted soup, and we had potatoes and heavy cream on hand.  And bacon.  


Baked Potato Soup

cook time: 45 minutes

serves: 4-6, depending on your serving size


Ingredients

3 large baking potatoes or a lot of small red ones

1/2 cup heavy cream


Toppings (optional)

grated cheddar cheese

sour cream

cooked bacon, chopped

chopped scallions


Procedure

1. Skin most of the potatoes, but leave the skin on one if you want.  Chop them up, and boil them until they are mushy soft.

2.  Reserve about 3 cups of liquid and drain the rest.  Place the liquid back in the pot with the potatoes.  

3.  Add in the heavy cream, and stir and mush until you have a really creamy potato mixture. Salt and pepper to taste.

4. Ladle into bowls, and let everyone top theirs as they see fit.  


That’s all! I had a photo, but it demonstrated just how messy my stove is was at the time, so I’m not showing it.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Thoughts?

