Broccoli Cheese Soup

11 Oct

Growing up, about once a month or so my family would drive an hour to have lunch with my Grandma, my Mom’s mother. Grandma would always cook and we would sit around the table for hours eating and chatting, until my brother and I would wander into the living room to pass out in a food coma. Grandma was a good cook, and we always overindulged while we were there.

In college, when I finally moved into an apartment with a stove, I wanted to make on of my favorite dishes. I called up Grandma and asked her for her recipe for Broccoli Cheese Soup. Grandma promptly rattled it off to me, without even needing to look for a recipe card. I’ve been making this recipe, with just one alteration, for about 6 years now, and it’s still one of my all time favorite dishes.

Grandma’s Broccoli Cheese Soup
Prep time: 15 minutes Cook time: 30 – 45 minutes


Ingredients
chopped broccoli, about 2 heads
3 potatoes, skinned and chopped into about 1 inch cubes
3 – 4 chopped carrots
1 chopped onion
7 cups of water
3 packets of Sweet-N-Low (my one alteration – I leave this out. I don’t even add sugar in its place)
Salt and pepper to taste
1/4 to 1/2 lb Velvetta

Procedure:
1. Get all the vegetables washed and prepped
2. Heat and cook the vegetables in the 7 cups of water until tender
3. Add the cheese and cook on low for 30 – 45 minutes. Be careful not to boil the cheese!
4. Season with salt and pepper to taste, and enjoy.

Note the book. I love books. Good book.
Read the rest of the Odd Thomas books first, though.

It’s been just over a year now since Grandma passed away, and I love spending time in the kitchen, making her recipes, and thinking back through the many memories I have of her. Passing down family recipes is a wonderful way to remember those we love and to connect with our memories of them in a peaceful, happy way.

Thoughts?

