Look at what I learned!

8 Aug
The other day, as I was blog surfing, I came across BigGeek‘s entry about her giant Granny square blanket made from leftover sock yarn. I thought, “now that’s a use for leftover sock yarn I can get behind!”

‘Cause really, what else are you going to do with all those leftovers? Of course, this meant I had to learn how to crochet a granny square.

After several google searches and miss-hits, I came across a great site which I have now lost. I grabbed some yarn, a random crochet hook, and made this:

Isn’t it beautiful?!?

What else has been going on around here….let’s see. Well, I’ve almost finished the first of the Waving Lace socks. I have about an inch of foot left to finish before the toe, and then I will be halfway done with the pair! It’s a really fun and easy sock.

GP’s socks are still taking forever, in part because he has big feet, and in other part because working them 2 at a time really makes it feel like no progress is being made. I’m guessing I’m less than halfway through the foot. Oh well, it’s been in the 90’s for ages, so I’m not worried about him having cold feet.

Aaaaaaaand! The Olympics start tonight! I will be knitting on the CP(N)H while watching opening ceremonies! I’ll give some updated shots of the sleeve progress either this weekend or on Monday.

Thoughts?

