Pasta Template

23 Jul
I post this from a dorm room in Madison, Wisconsin. In a few hours I’ll be presenting my scientific research to a room full of big shots. I might vomit. Most likely I’ll just put people to sleep. Wish me luck! Oh, and I now understand why people live so far north. 70o in July? That’s awesome.

If you know me at all, you know that I enjoy being active, being outside, and doing things that feel like playing. This is especially true after 2 weeks of really long work hours and very little fun. My back is pretty much healed up, so to unwind a play around a little bit, GP and I packed the bikes on top of the car and went to the local bike paths that run around a small lake here in town.

My face isn’t blurry in real life, I promise.
Just that whole anonymity thing, you know?

Unfortunately, we didn’t get any pictures of us on our bikes. We did have a lot of fun, worked up a sweat, and enjoyed some fresh air, even if the air did occasionally smell like fish. We’ll definitely be doing this again soon!

I was planning on sharing with you the second dinner that I made when we were at the beach, but I have forgotten exactly what I did. Here’s a template that you can customize according to your own tastes:

Pasta Template

Make a sauce with a lot of tomatoes (coupla pounds), an onion, and some garlic (like, 5 or 6 cloves). Season however you like (basil, oregano, bay leaves, salt and pepper).
Cook up about 12 ounces of salmon on the stove top.
Cook a whole box of angel hair pasta.
Break up the salmon into little pieces, toss with the pasta and pour on the sauce.
Sprinkle freshly chopped Italian parsley on top.
Eat. Serves about 8.

See, this is generally how I cook. I decide to make something, I make it up as I go, and promptly forget exactly what I did because I never write it down. I am oh-so-organized! But you know, having general templates like this one make dinner a whole lot easier. Once you know what seasonings you like, you can easily change a dish to have chicken and lemon rather than fish and basil. Or you can add Italian sausage or grilled tofu with tarragon or rosemary. That’s the best part of cooking, getting to throw together different tastes and see what comes out.

Of course, sometimes what comes out is inedible, but the more you try, the better you get!

Thoughts?

