Homemade Ice Cream

27 Jun

Thanks so much for your concern about my back, everyone! Muscle relaxers and Aleve seem to be doing the trick and I have much less pain and much more mobility. I’ve been trying my best to take it easy and rest.

GP and I leave for a nice beach vacation tomorrow! The house is clean, the bike rack is on the car, the laundry is done (not packed!) and I’m excited to hit the road. I’ll still be around, reading your blogs and whatnot, and I’m going to try to make a few updates to this page that I just haven’t had the time to get done.

My favorite summery treats are the cold ones: ice cream, frozen yogurt, gelato! Sugary, creamy, and delicious, and wonderful to help cool you off on a really hot day. Usually during the summer I make two or three batches of homemade ice cream, using a recipe from my Grandmother, given to my Mom in 1971 and then passed on to me in 2002 (I absolutely had an ice cream maker at college. Is that weird?). I haven’t made it yet this summer, but I might just haul my ice cream maker and rock salt to the beach!

Homemade Ice Cream

Ingredients:
5 eggs, beaten
2 cups sugar
1 large can sweetened condensed milk (I go for the fat-free variety)
1/2 cup sugar mixed with 2 tbs flour
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 – 2 Cups chopped fresh fruit (optional, it is equally good just plain vanilla)
1 gallon milk, skim or 2% is what we use, you will need slightly less than a full gallon

Directions:
I, because I don’t like to do dishes, mix everything together in the canister of my ice cream maker. Fill with milk to the fill line (a few inches below the top). Follow the directions of your ice cream maker, and then either put it out on the porch in the shade, or stick it in the sink and leave the house for awhile. Those suckers are loud!

Once the maker has stopped, eat and enjoy! In my experience, the ice cream has a crystalline texture, most likely due to the use of non-fat milk and condensed milk. If the fat were replaced, a smoother consistency would probably be the result. The taste, though, the taste is delicious!

Now, since I don’t have a picture of the ice cream to show you, I’ll leave you with a picture of one of our companions for this beach trip: Clark!

Thoughts?

