Ah, that’s better!

26 Jun

Ah, the top is finished and I am very pleased! Just a few hours spent ripping, re-knitting, seaming and steaming and the Lotus Blossom Tank is finally ready for wear.

Pattern: Lotus Blossom Tank, Best of Interweave Knits
Yarn: Berroco Comfort DK. 3 1/2 skeins.
This yarn is 100% non-natural fibers. It is machine washable and can be thrown in the dryer on the air fluff cycle. While working with it, I noticed that it has a lot of elasticity (great for adding length while blocking!) and a good amount of “memory” so I’m not afraid of it growing tremendously over time. It has a great smooth feel, is nice directly against the skin, and is warm without being hot. The only thing to watch out for is that it can be a bit splitty. Other than that I’d work with it again! Total cost of yarn was about $14. Not too shabby!

Awesome tan lines on my back.

Needles: Susan Bates circulars, US 6 for the bottom 2 lace panels, US 5 for the rest of the body, and US 4 for the armhole finishing.
Started: April 27, 2008
Finished: June 25, 2008 (woah, that took awhile!)

These are my favorite pants ever!



Mods: The majority of the body was unaltered, although I added a repeat of the lace and about 3 inches to the stockinette section. The substantial modifications were done to the back. These were fairly extensive, so I won’t list them here in much detail. If you want details, feel free to email me!

In short, I took about an inch off the width of the back and knit until it was as long as I wanted it, then finished with 3 rows garter stitch. I knit the straps separately, then seamed them to the outer edges of the back and along the diagonal decreases on the front. Then I picked up stitches all the way around the armholes (and again along the inside edge of the straps) knit 3 rows of garter stitch, then bound off. There is a bit of wonkiness right where all the seams meet in the front, but it pretty much looks okay.

Awesome watch tan line on my left wrist!

Notes: I’m very pleased with how it all turned out. As Kate said in the comments, it’s much better to frog and redo until you’re pleased with something than to accept it as is and forever be dissatisfied! The few hours it took me to redo the straps was well worth it, because now I have a nicely fitting top that I am happy to wear out and about.

Thoughts?

