Chard and Spinach Quiche

24 Jun

Oh, you guys. GP is in charge of dinner tonight. I have somehow injured my back and can’t stand up/move around long enough to cook dinner. Can’t really do much else, either, which is making me stir crazy and grumpy.

So instead of cooking I’ll be icing my back, taking painkillers and muscle relaxers, and rubbing on some Aspercreme. Woohoo!

I do have a new recipe to share with you, though! Every summer there is a farmer’s market in the parking garage of the hospital where I work/go to school. It’s all locally grown, small farm produced produce and this year there are even more vendors than last year. I traipsed down there on Thursday and picked up an assortment of veggies and fruits and decided to branch out a little from the usual summer fare of squash and zucchini. Beautiful bunches of chard where on display and I threw caution to the wind and bought some!

It’s an interesting move, because I had never cooked with chard before. I did a little digging through online recipe sources and combined a couple to develop this Chard and Spinach Quiche. Chard, it turns out, has an earthy and almost nutty kind of flavor that is really wonderful. It made the quiche so delicious and different that I’m sure we’ll have this again the next time I find some chard.

Chard and Spinach Quiche (serves 4 – 6)
Total time: 30 to 45 minutes

Ingredients:
1 9″ pie crust
1 bunch (1 lb or so) chard
2 cups spinach, chopped
2 tbs extra virgin olive oil
1/2 package sliced mushrooms
1/2 onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 eggs
1 cup grated Parmesan
1 cup grated cheddar
1/4 cup milk
couple of shakes salt and pepper

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350o. Prick the bottom of the pie crust with a fork (I forgot that step) and put in the oven to bake.

Wash the chard really well, then chop the stems into 1/4″ bits. Chop the leaves, spinach, onion, and garlic. In a large pan, heat the oil, then add the onion, followed by the garlic and chard stems. Once the onion and chard has softened, add the leafy stuff and cook, stirring constantly, until it has reduced down to a pile of green wilted leaves. Should take about 3 minutes or so.

In a large bowl, combine the eggs, cheese, milk, and mushrooms. Add the cooked greens and mix it all together. Pour into the pie crust and bake at 350o for about 20 minutes, or until the top is slightly browned and the eggs are firm.

This was so delicious it didn’t last very long. GP, who seldom eats leftovers, ate all of these leftovers before I had a chance at them! And he’s requested that I make it again.

A note about the chard: you can make this without, if you can’t find it. Just double the spinach. Alternatively, try using rhubarb or even – the stems of beets. The farmer who sold me the chard said that it tastes just like the stems of beets, and that chard is basically a beetless beet!

Thoughts?

