Breakfast

15 Jun

I love breakfast, ya’ll. Well, really I love to eat anytime of the day, but breakfast is one of my favorite meals, and it’s one that sadly gets neglected. A good breakfast, however, can really shape how your day pans out. Breakfast helps people focus during the morning and definitely wards off mid-morning hunger. However, a lot of us are trying to get out of the door and get to work quickly, and don’t have time to make an elaborate breakfast. Two of my new favorite breakfasts are below, and each takes only a matter of minutes to make, but will help keep you full and focused throughout the morning.

Not-literally-beefed-up Yogurt
This morning and a few others this week, I’ve wanted yogurt for breakfast. A single carton (4-6 oz) however, isn’t enough to keep me full for an hour, much less tide me over until lunch. Thus, I have beefed up my yogurt by supplementing it with extra protein and fat, and added fiber in the way of fresh fruit. As follows:

1 carton yogurt, whatever you have on hand
1 or 2 handfuls of fresh fruit (I’ve been using blueberries)
1/4 cup or so unsalted slivered almonds

Mix it all together in a bowl and ingest. You can add more or less fruit or nuts, or add granola or bran or flax seeds. Whatever floats your boat! Might I suggest using plain Greek yogurt instead of flavored yogurts? Try it and I promise you will like it!

English Muffin Egg Sandwich
I’m a carboholic, and I love anything that resembles bread in any way. I also love eggs, so combining the two is like a glorious wonderland of food!

1 whole grain English muffin
2 eggs, scrambled
1 slice sharp cheddar cheese

Toast muffin, scramble eggs. Make a sandwich. Eat. Have a piece of fruit with it. It’s that simple.

Anyone else have a quick breakfast favorite you’d like to share? Please post in the comments!

Thoughts?

