WIP Roundup

26 May

Well, I hope everyone had a great Memorial Day Weekend! Or just a great regular weekend for my non-American readers!

It’s been awhile since I did a WIP roundup, and I think it’s about time. Not that there’s really all that much to round up these days. Life has this not-so-nice tendency of getting in the way and keeping me from getting much knitting done. Prepare yourself for some really sub-par pictures!

Last weekend, though, while we were in the car for a bazillion hours, I got much accomplished on the Lotus Blossom tank. I have 3.5 of the 4 specified repeats finished, and will probably add a 5th repeat to give it more length.

That’s got to be one of the best things about Ravelry. I was looking around at everyone else’s Lotus Blossom Tanks (it feels kinda like snooping, doesn’t it. Only people invite you to do it!) and found the ones I liked best. Pretty much all of them had an extra lace repeat and then an extra inch or two of stockinette added in before the chest shaping. So I’m gonna give that a whirl myself and see what happens. The original pattern is a little too short for my long torso.


The lace pattern goes pretty smoothly, I suppose. There are no “rest” rows of plain knitting between the lace rows, so you have to pay attention all the time. Since I am lazy, this kinda turns me off a little bit, so I wind up working really hard for an hour and then putting it down for days. Soon, though, I’ll hit the stockinette and then it will fly by. I”m hoping to have this one finished by the end of June.

The only other thing on the needles right now is a pair of socks for GP. These were the Cable Rib socks, but now they’re plain boring socks. They will take forever to finish because GP has big feet and it’s summer now, so who needs wool socks. 2X2 ribbing all the way down the leg, then I”ll figure out what heel works best. I may continue the ribbing on the top of the foot, or I may have gone crazy from all the ribbing by then. Anyway, this is more my movie and TV watching knitting right now, so it’s slow but steady.


Last but not least, the Central Park (Un)Hoodie. I have made it to the cabling of the sleeves! I am on schedule to have this thing finished by September. Or something like that. There is no picture available because the sweater now lives in its bag in my car, so I have no excuse to accidentally forget it and work on something else at knit nite.

Thoughts?

