Hooking

21 May

Over the weekend, GP and I were in the car for more hours than we were out of it, and he did most of the driving. Meaning I had ample time to knit and do other things to entertain myself.

One such other thing was crocheting a hat. Yes, crocheting. I looked up some helpful websites and taught myself the basics last week, then found a pattern I really liked and went to town. It took about 4 tries to get the right sized hook and get the gauge to what I liked. Then I had to redo the scallops about 4 times and the brim twice before ending with a good result.


I took the pics in my car in the parking lot this morning. I just wish I could show you the whole series, it’s really funny. There’s a lot of pictures of just half of my head, or really bored facial expressions. Also, apparently it takes some real talent to photo the back of your own head, and my lack of said talent is evident here:


Pattern: Gulf Shores hat
Yarn: Sugar ‘N Cream, 1 ball
Hook: Boye J, 6.00 mm
Mods: I added an extra repeat of the scallop pattern to give more length to the hat. I may go back and add another repeat to the brim to make it bigger and floppier, but I haven’t decided yet.
Notes: Crocheting is actually a lot easier than I thought it would be! It was great for traveling and went really fast. I’ll definitely do a bit more crocheting in the future. I think I need a beach bag to go with my new hat. I also think I’ll make a smaller hat for my niece.

Thoughts?

