Summer Sewing

12 May

It’s 80 degrees outside (well, not today, but it has been), sunshiny, and beautiful. Perfect weather for a southern gal such as myself. Not so much perfect weather for a wool sweater, though.

See, I’m finding it really hard to work on the CPH now that I know I won’t be wearing it anytime soon. Still, I don’t want to let it languish until the weather gets cold again, so I have developed a strategy to cope with this situation.

I shall work on the CPH every week at knit nite. Of course, this requires that I go to knit nite, which I did not this week. For the past several weeks, however, I have carried out this plan of action and have managed to finish knitting the required 5 inches of ribbing for both of the sleeves! At this rate, assuming I make it to knit nite 3 out of 4 weeks in the month, I should have finished the sleeves by mid-September. Surely by then the weather will be slighlty cooling and I’ll have the motivation to put it all together and figure out how to make a collar, since it will be hoodless!

Instead of knitting wool, then, I have been sewing cotton! I needed a new, lighter bathrobe, so I went out and made my own. The pieces were cut out on Saturday, and the whole thing sewn together on Sunday. It was simple and a great introduction to sewing garments!


Pattern: Kimono Style Robe from Amy Butler’s In Stitches
Mods: none, because I’m not that proficient
Notes: Great pattern, so clear that a novice to sewing like me could follow it no problem. I only had to rip out one seam! It took about 5 hours to sew together, all told, and it fits great (I made the medium size).

Look for a bit more sewing to come, as I’m in need of a new purse, as well.

Thoughts?

