An FO! It’s been awhile

20 Apr

I wanted to finish the Merino Lace socks as quickly as possible so that I could cast on for Sebring without feeling guilty (I suffer from all sorts of guilt). I knit furiously on them every chance I got to the exclusion of far bigger projects (the CPH, which has a back, 2 fronts, but no sleeves) until yesterday.

Last night I wore them, completed, to watch Jekyll & Hyde at our local community theatre. Melinda made costumes (they were wonderful Victorian period pieces) and then dressed Hyde during the show, so we had a special interest in seeing it. And, I so love this musical; if you haven’t seen it, really try to sometime, you won’t be sorry. Or, you can wait a while, I hear there’s a movie in the works (I’d totally buy that)!

Pattern: Merino Lace Socks by Anne Woodbury, found in Favorite Socks


Yarn: Louet Jems Fingering, in Eggplant. This yarn is so soft and squishy, I can definitely see myself using it again. I also had plenty left over after finishing the socks. I’m thinking stripes or contrasting toes and heels in the future.

Needles: US 0 DPNs, Susan Bates


Started: February 16, 2008
Finished: April 19, 2008
Notes: The pattern was really easy to memorize, and quick to make if I just sat down and did it! These poor socks sat around for a long time because I got distracted by other things, but I really did enjoy the process and love the product. Especially ow the pattern continues down the heel flap! Isn’t it cute?

I had to add at least one extra repeat on the foot to get them to be long enough for my size 9.5s, but other than that I made no modifications. After making the first one I was afraid that they would be too big, but they actually fit really well. All in all, I’m very pleased and would definitely recommend this pattern if anyone is thinking about it.

Thoughts?

