Sweet Treats – Ice Box Lemon Pie

15 Mar

The weather is getting warmer and the days are definitely longer, making me ready for some sweet summery treats. On the top of my list are cold fruity pies. One I remember particularly well from lunch trips to my Grandma’s house is Ice Box Lemon Pie. A no-bake (except for the meringue) pie with very few ingredients is the easiest way to go for a quick and easy dessert. I made this one on Thursday, and there are somehow still 3 slices in the pan. This pie may hold the record for longevity!

Ingredients:
Juice of 3 lemons (around a half a cup)
1 can Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk (I use the fat free variety)
2 egg yolks
1 graham cracker pie crust (no, I don’t make my own, because I am lazy. Hence the use of a no-bake pie recipe in the first place.)

Mix the first 3 ingredients in a bowl until well blended. Pour in pie crust, refrigerate. Done!


You can use the egg whites to make a meringue, then brown it either in the oven (about 375o) or if you have one of those cool kitchen blowtorches, use that instead. Alternatively, make your own whipped cream or just use Cool Whip to top.

Simple, easy, tart and delicious. Nothing could be easier or better (except maybe those cartons of pre-made cheesecake filling).

Thoughts?

