A Worthy Cause

13 Mar

I have done something new this week. I have signed up to participate in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. It comes to our neck of the woods in early May, and rather than simply putting in my $20 and running, I decided to do something else that I’ve never done before. And that is do a bit of fund raising.

My Grandma, who passed away recently, was a survivor of breast cancer. After her diagnosis and subsequent treatment she was as brave as any person can be about cancer. I have always been proud of her strength and courage in facing this disease and can only hope that when I face such troubles I can be as calm and courageous as she was. I know that almost all of us have known someone who has suffered from breast cancer, be she friend, family, or acquaintance. We, you and I, do have an opportunity to help these and other people receive better treatments and options by supporting breast cancer research.

If you should feel inclined to donate, please contact me at stillintheworksATgmailDOTcom, and I will direct you to the donation page. You can donate to the cause in general, or as one of my supporters, helping me to reach my goal of $125.

Thoughts?

