It took long enough

30 Jan

I am finally finished with the Embossed Leaves socks! In fact, I’m wearing them right now! They are soft and I love them and never want to take them off.

Pattern: Embossed Leaves Socks by Mona Schmidt, from Favorite Socks


Needles: Size 0 Knit Picks DPN, graciously given to me by Karen, who will never have need of them.

Yarn: Sanguine Gryphon Little Traveler Handpainted, Taiwan colorway
Ya’ll, there is a lot of yarn in this hank! 560 yards, to be exact, and I’m guessing I only used about 2/3 of it, maybe even less (I’ll weigh it today at work!). I could definitely get a pair of short socks out of the remnants, but I’m thinking of perhaps making some stripey socks with a bunch of leftovers.

Also, this is some incredibly soft yarn. Not scratchy at all on the feet, and so soft to work with. However, it is kinda thin, as you can guess from the yardage. But I am pleased.


Started: November 20, 2007

Finished: January 28, 2008

Mods: I dropped the heel specified in the pattern and went for a regular old heel flap. The thinness of the yarn made me think it would need some reinforcement. I also had to add a full extra repeat to the foot to make it long enough.


Notes: Love this pattern! Actually, I think it’s one I would knit again, because it was fun and easy. The pattern was easy to memorize and just short enough that “one more repeat” makes them go by fast (when you actually work on them, of course!). Really, though, it’s just a beautiful pattern, and well worth the effort. I also learned a new cast on and new toe, both of which will be used again in the future!

Thoughts?

