A Merry Christmas FO

24 Dec

I have several FOs to show you, but some of them have to wait. One because it’s a gift for a blog reader, and one because I left it in the Land of Dial up while passing through on the way to the Land of Mountains.

I do have one thing to show you right now, though! A finished hat! Although it hasn’t been blocked yet.


Pattern: Ullared by Charlene Schurch, from Hats On!
Yarn: Knitpicks Telemark – less than one skein each Navy and Ice; Knitting Fever Luxury Cashmere Aran – less than half a ball for lining
Needles: Addi Natura 12″ circulars, size 5
Started: December 20
Finished: December 22


Notes: I had no chance of ever achieving the specified gauge, and I gather from Ravelry that this seems to be a common problem… So I cast on for the smallest size, and at the gauge I was getting it fits me just fine. And while I do have a freakishly small head, it’s supposed to be for a 3 year old, so it may be a bit big. In which case I will either felt it lightly or just let him grow into it.

Mods: The pattern calls for about an inch of ribbing, but I didn’t want to do that, so I cast on and knit a round, purled a round, knit a round, then started the pattern. When I finished the hat, I picked up stitches around the cast on edge and knit a lining with the cashmere. When the lining was long enough for my liking, I kitchenered it to the inside of the hat. Took forever, but left a really great result. I am super pleased.


This is a really great pattern, and I would recommend it to anyone wishing to get more acquainted with fair isle knitting. I held the yarn the EZ method, carrying the main color in my right hand and the contrast color in the left. I must say, my picking technique has gotten much better the last couple of days! I have several colors of yarn at home, and I see several more fair isle hats in my future.

Merry Christmas, everyone!

Thoughts?

