WIP Roundup

9 Dec

Phew! Thank goodness it’s Sunday, and my major school responsibilities are now over for the semester. Not to say I’m done for the semester, but I don’t have any more major presentations or meetings to worry about. My meeting with my advisory committee Friday went much better than I expected, so I am a happy student!

And there has been some knitting progress, finally.

I am happy to report that last night I worked 5 rows on the clover shawl. It now looks like this:


Just 6 rows left and I can finally leave this chart and move on to the next one. When I finish the current chart, I will be down to 422 stitches on the needle. A vast improvement over the 624 or so I initially cast on.

I also finished the first of the Embossed Leaves socks. It fits great and I couldn’t be happier with how the color works with the pattern!

I had to do one extra pattern repeat to get the foot long enough, but that was all I needed. It also uses a star toe, which I now love and will definitely use again.

And lastly, I started a hat! This is the Frivoli pattern (sorry, only link is to a pdf) and looks really great, but I’m not so much enjoying knitting it. Apparently I can’t really get a good picture of it, either. The sun is on the wrong side of the building right now, and I am still in my pajamas. So you get this:


I’m making the niece and nephew hats for Christmas, and this is hers. I’ve done 6 repeats of the cable and bobble pattern, and have 4 more to go. I’m planning on trying to get one repeat done each day. Then I can start working on my nephew’s hat!

That’s all that’s on the needles right now. I’m not really doing Christmas knitting this year, largely because I don’t have time, but also because no one asked for anything (and I told them they had to if they wanted a handknit something). So just these two hats for the Christmas knitting, although I am making some stocking stuffers, but those I’m keeping secret! Today, I’m off to do some Christmas shopping!

Thoughts?

