How I got in to Crafting. Sort of.

27 Nov

Well look at that! This is my 101st post!

Next Friday I have a terribly important meeting, so I’ll be spending a good amount of time preparing for that. Sadly, this means I must neglect my after school activities so that I can do a good job and impress my committee enough that they say I am a good student and not in trouble for being a slacker. Unfortunately, I don’t think they would like it if I tried to bribe them with hand knits.

Fortunately for you, I have a few things I can show you to keep you interested for the time being. Well, maybe not interested, but at least I’ll be posting!

Back in….2001 I guess it was, I decided I wanted to make a quilt. No idea why, I’d never been particularly crafty before, I just wanted to make a quilt. So I got a book on quilting, bought fabric, and went to town. I borrowed Mom’s really old Singer sewing machine that likes to have fits regularly and made a lap quilt from an easy design I came up with myself. It’s far from perfect with uneven hand quilting and a really wonky bias binding, but I’m really proud of it!

A year or so later, when my grandmother was moved into a retirement home, we came across a neat old quilt top in a cedar chest. Best we could guess, her mother had pieced the thing and never finished it. It’s one of those quilts made from bits of fabric around the house: there’s flannel and polyester right along side what must have been curtains and bits of old dresses. Of course I decided I would finish it! So I got batting and backing and, in the spirit of the era from which it originated, I set out to hand quilt it. A queen sized quilt.

My hands are now so weak and my carpal tunnel bad enough that I can’t hand quilt anymore. So now I am at a bit of a standstill. I love the look of hand quilting, but can’t do it myself. I suppose I should rip out all of the hand quilted parts and machine quilt the entire thing. That would definitely take less time. Any opinions/suggestions/willingness to finish quilting it for me?

Right, so. Sometimes things come full circle:


I’m taking a year long quilt block class. Here’s how it works. You pay $7.50 to sign up and get your first set of materials. You cut and sew the block, and come to class a month later. If you finished your block, you get the next month’s fabric for free. This goes on for an entire year. If you finish your block and make it to class each month, you can steal away with 12 quilt blocks for less than 10 bucks! Not bad, huh? Best part – it took less than an hour to put this block together.

Thoughts?

