Composed Mitts – another FO!

25 Nov

I had almost finished the Composed Mitts last weekend, but got really bored of working on them and quit with 7 rows left. I finished them up on our Thanksgiving drive, wove in the ends and blocked them this morning!


Pattern: Composed Mitts by Michele Rose Orne, from Interweave Fall 2007
Yarn: Blue Sky Alpacas Sport Weight
Needles: US 3 DPNs, a mixture of 3 Crystal Palace Bamboo and a single metal DPN
Started: 6 October 2007
Finished: 25 November 2007. Probably wouldn’t have taken so long if I hadn’t had deadline knitting and lots of traveling in between.
Modifications: I left off the bobbles at the cuffs. They just didn’t look right to me, and I didn’t feel like making bobbles when I cast on. I’m really glad I left them off too. It seems like most people are, looking at Ravelry.


Notes: The pattern was fun to knit, and a really great intro to fair isle knitting! No more than 3 colors were used on a single row, and none of the patterns were very complicated. I’m actually quite pleased with how they turned out. And, despite the amount of time it took me to complete them, they are actually a really quick knit. It took Camilla no time at all to knit hers!

The yarn is so soft and fuzzy! Plus, it really is super warm on the arms and wrists, right where cold air likes to shoot up your jacket sleeves! I did have one problem with the yarn, though. The further I got through the ball of black yarn, the thinner the yarn got. There are some places on the mitts that are thinner than others because of the change in yarn. I didn’t notice this with any of the other colors, but it may be because I didn’t use as much of the other colors as the black. Still, they turned out great!

Now I’m off to search Ravelry for a great hat to go along with these mitts. Any suggestions?

Thoughts?

