Happy Birthday to Me!

20 Nov

Yesterday I turned the ripe old age of 26!

As usual, I got a good bit of Birthday money, so I acquired some new yarny goodness. First up is some Louet Jems fingering weight in the Eggplant colorway. It’s so lovely and squishy, I can’t wait to start knitting with it.


A yarn shop in town is having a 20% off holiday sale, so you know I swung by to see what they had! Their sock yarn selection had improved since the last time I was there, and I came home with this bit of Collinette Jitterbug. The colors reminded me of Monet’s many waterlilies paintings, and lo and behold, when I got home and took it out of the bag I saw that the colorway is named Monet! I’m a genius! The color is a bit washed out in this picture, there’s actually a lot more greens. I’ll do better next time.

I almost picked up some Malabrigo laceweight, but resisted, telling myself I’m not allowed to purchase more lace yarn until I finish my current lace project. That is one of my rules, after all. But, like so many other rules, sock yarn doesn’t count!

I also picked up a copy of Favorite Socks, which I have been wanting for ages now! I could (and just might) make about 90% of the patterns in this book, making it a definite worthwhile purchase.

See that little sock blocker on the book? That was a present from Kristen! It’s a keychain and comes with a pattern to make a little tiny sock with your leftover sock yarn. It’s sooooo cute, I love it, thank you so much, Kristen!


Of course, you know I had to cast on a new sock from the new book! I’ve done two of the three leg repeats of the lace pattern for the Embossed Leaves Socks. The yarn is my Sanguine Gryphon Handpainted yarn, and I think it is perfect for this pattern. The colors are so close to the colors of the leaves outside right now! And the yarn is so soft and great to work with.

I got several other non-crafting related birthday presents, along with a quilted bag from my in-laws that will be a perfect knitting bag for a large project. I share my birthday with my Mother-in-Law, so it’s really easy for us to remember each other! GP, my Mom and my brother’s family (love you all!) spoiled me as usual, and I had a great birthday all around.

Thoughts?

