Harvest Socks Completed!

14 Nov

The second Harvest Sock, knit mostly on planes and in airports, was finished today!

Pattern: Figure 8 cast on for toe up socks, increased to 48 stitches total. Short row heel. Twisted 1X1 ribbing at the cuff. Plain Jane stockinette the rest of the way.


Yarn: Miss Babs Yummy Superwash Sport, Harvest Colorway

Needles: Two 12″ circular Susan Bates size 2s

Started: November 4

Finished: November 14

Notes: Socks in sportweight go by so fast! These things practically knit themselves while I wasn’t looking. These were done on 2 circular needles, as opposed to the DPNs I usually use, and I really enjoyed the process. I will definitely be giving the 2 circs another try!

I love the way the colors turned out, with the reds striping so nicely. I’m afraid it’s a bit washed out in the pictures, but I can’t get enough of it! I decided to go with a plain sock to show off the beautiful color variation of the yarn. Such blues, oranges, and reds really wanted to stand out on their own and not be obstructed by a fiddly pattern. Besides, I needed some really mindless knitting, truth be told.


Generally, I do a wrap-and-turn short row heel or toe, but to learn something new, this time I used the PGR method of making yarn overs instead of wraps. I have little holes along the line of the heel now, but I’m okay with that. In the future, though, I’ll stick with my wraps.

All in all, I’m very pleased. I said that I would come home from knit nite and block them, but Karen mentioned that she never blocks her socks, just wears them straight off the needles. So that’s what I’m gonna do! These puppies are going to be worn to work tomorrow. Actually, I’m wearing them right now!

Thoughts?

