SAFF in Review

28 Oct
We had a fabulous time at SAFF on Saturday! There were so many vendors we didn’t even know what to do with ourselves. The beautiful colors, the squishy luscious yarn, the ridiculously expensive cheeseburgers…just wow.

It was so overwhelming!

While wondering slack-jawed among the vendors, I was fortunate enough to meet commenter extraordinare (how do you spell that word?!?), Shelda, along with her sister and daughter (correct me if I’m wrong there, Shelda!) Great people, all 3 of you, and I am so glad you picked me out of the crowd!


Of course, it couldn’t be called an Animal Fiber Festival without some llamas and alpacas!
Llamas!

Stare down: You blink first.

I love alpacas. Do you think our apartment manager would mind if we had 2 cats, a dog, and an alpaca? Or two?
My “haul”

Despite vowing I wouldn’t buy anything, I came home with some great new sock yarn. On the left is Miss Babs handyed in the Harvest colorway, DK weight; so me! The right is sock yarn by The Sanguine Gryphon in the colorway Taiwan. This has a whopping 560 yards! My mantra for the day was “put down the lace weight!” You know I have a strange love for knitting lace, but let’s be honest. How many lace shawls does a girl really need? Yeah, not too many.

After wiping the drool off our chins and burying the money well in the bottom of our bags, we made our way to the Ravelry meet and greet. Whew, a lot of knitters and spinners were packed into a small area! We meet Aimee of Fairie Knits, Turtlegirl, Trillian, ZKnitter, and so many more people I can’t even remember them all! I think it’s safe to say that we’re all looking forward to going again next year.

Thoughts?

