Grandma’s Shawl

16 Oct

Thank you, everyone. Your kind words of love and sympathy are very much appreciated by me and my family. This has been a tough time for us all, and the support of friends, both in life and in cyberspace, means so much.

Last year, Mom suggested I make a shawl for Grandma for Christmas. Mom said a nice dusty rose color would be best, since Grandma looked fantastic in that color.

So I bit off more than I could chew (I had to wing it at the end, because I thought it unnecessary to count my stitches regularly) and decided to go with lace. Ene’s Scarf, to be exact. I finished it a day or two before Christmas, and Mom helped me block it the day before it was given. Here is the finished result, modeled by my charming Mom, in the wilderness of her front yard.


Pattern: Ene’s Scarf from ScarfStyle
Yarn: Misti Alpaca lace weight, colorway Rose
Needles: Size 6 Susan Bates 24″ circulars
Started: October or November of 2006, let’s go with October
Finished: December 2006


I know Grandma wore it several times. In fact, she wore it to my cousin’s wedding (Hi, B & L!). Grandma told me that one of her church groups had a sort of show and tell time every month. For her turn, she took a floor mat she had crocheted a long time ago, and this shawl so she could brag on her granddaughter.

I have it now, and will wear it often, thinking of her each time I feel the edging brush my arm, and every time I look down to catch a glimpse of pink.

Thoughts?

