New WIP Saturday

6 Oct

I told myself that I would be monogamous to the Silk Diamond Shawl, since it is a shop sample and I need to finish it by the end of the month. However, it is just flying off the needles! I’m already through the first diamond pattern chart, and I think I should definitely finish it by the end of October.

So naturally, since the shawl was going so quickly, I cast on for something new! A few weeks ago I had a yarn seizure and came home with all the colors of Blue Sky Alpaca DK to make the Composed Mitts from the Fall IK.

I have been wanting to try some color work, and I am irrationally in love with these mitts! Perfect! The colors also remind me quite a bit of autumn, so I think they are perfect knitting for this time of year.

I’m doing these by Magic Loop, something I’ve only ever used for purses before. I was finding it difficult to manage all the different strands of yarn on DPNs, and magic loop seems to be working much better. It’s also helping to keep the floats on the wrong side neater. I also didn’t do the bobbles along the bottom edge because I don’t really like them, but mostly because I just didn’t want to make bobbles when I first cast on.

So far, I’ve completed about a 5th of the first mitt. I feel pretty certain that I’ll have enough yarn left over to make a nice coordinating hat to finish off the whole ensemble.

Thoughts?

