A Moment, Please

11 Sep

I feel like I should say something profound today, but I don’t quite know what. I’ll ask instead that before you continue on, dear reader, take a moment of silence in honor of the victims of 6 years ago today. Thank you.

Before I jaunted off to the other side of the country, I did some knitting. I made it about halfway through the cable portion of the Tangled Yoke Cardigan. It’s totally not as complicated as it looks, in case you were wondering.

Not the mistake, a current picture.

Then, suddenly and devastatingly, I realized I had made an irreversible mistake on the row I had just finished. Believe me, I tried to figure out the best way to reverse it, but was hard pressed to find an answer of how to magically make 5 stitches appear every 13th stitch without re-knitting the last row. Upon further inspection of said piece of knitting, I realized I had also made a mistake on row 1 of the cable! Now, this mistake wasn’t really noticeable, but as one of my goals is to be more of a perfectionist, I ripped it back. I felt better, too, despite needing a half hour to pick up all those stitches and get back on track.


So now I’m back to the part where I messed up before and ready to move on to the next part, which I refer to as the super crazy cable because it crosses everywhere all the time! Seriously.

I did a little knitting while I was gone, too. Mostly on planes and in airports (where I spent an inordinate amount of time, much of that thoroughly aggravated and in a bad mood. But I digress). I have finished the first repeat of Chart C of the Clover Shawl, y’all!


Two more repeats to go, each one getting progressively smaller by two pattern repeats. This shawl is going to be a long term project, so I probably won’t show many more pictures of it until I reach the next chart. ‘Cause really, all the pictures are going to look like this one for a while. And there’s no need to be redundant.

Next post I’ll tell you how I do bobbles, which involves no turning of the piece and which I think looks nicer than the way lots of books tell you to do it. I made it up myself, when I first started knitting and needed to make a bobble. I bet you anything it isn’t original, but I’ve never really cared to look!

Thoughts?

