Bring out the Calculator!

26 Aug

I think that I must have used all my math powers on Thursday night, because Friday at the lab I thought that 6 x 2 x 2 = 48, not 24. (I like saying “at the lab” better than “at work.” So much more mad-scientist-y.)

It all started with this:


My swatch for the Tangled Yoke Cardigan, which I am dying to knit and wear as soon as the weather cools down, or as soon as I can take it to the refrigerator of a lab in which I work.

The pattern suggests a gauge of 24 stitches and 36 rows to 4 inches on size 5 needles. Well now. I don’t know who knit that swatch, but it was not me! My swatch tells me I am getting 24 stitches no problem, but that I am only eeking out 30 rows to 4 inches on size 3 needles.

Yikes! This means it’s time to pull out my powers of mathematics, y’all! I thought for a moment of asking my math-brained husband to do this for me (honestly, who gets A+’s in Calculus classes? Ridiculous!) but decided it would benefit me as a knitter and as a person on the whole to do it myself.

After many long minutes of punching numbers into a calculator, I have re-written the pattern to fit my row gauge. It’s really not hard at all, to be honest, but doing math outside of the lab goes against my deepest desire to be as lazy as is humanly possible. And it takes up valuable knitting time. I could have knit an eighth of a row on the Clover Shawl in the 10 minutes it took me to do that math, for goodness sakes!

Look! Ribbing!

I am also in the process of re-writing the sleeves to make them 3/4 length, instead of full length. I almost always push my sleeves up on shirts and sweaters, because they never seem to fit my crazy-long arms. While I do realize that by knitting a sweater I can make the sleeves actually long enough, I have come quite accustomed to having 3/4 sleeves and now prefer them. The fashion industry has me well trained.

Thoughts?

