Two FOs

11 Aug

Let’s start with the oldest FO (finished object) in my closet. This is a wrap I made for myself in December of 2005. (Click on the pictures to see them larger.)


Essentially, it is a simple drop stitch pattern, made in a 100% mohair yarn whose name I can’t remember (unusual for me, since I usually keep all my ball bands) worked on size 13 needles. So, it’s kind of itchy, but works well as a shoulder wrap over a t-shirt or even a tank top. It is a little too short to wrap completely around me, but with a broach it works just fine.

The colors are simply divine in my book, since turquoise is one of my absolute favorite colors. and the way it stripes was a happy accident. It looks impressive, but it was really easy to make, and I started and completed it on Christmas vacation that year. Still, every time I wear it out, people try to look at it surreptitiously, and some ask me where they can get one or if I made it myself.


The Cardigan for Arwen was quite the hit in the blogosphere almost a year ago. Not that anyone was surprised! It appeared in the Winter 2006 issue of Interweave Knits, and was designed by Kate Gilbert.

I used the money I received for my birthday that year to buy the yarn, Knit Picks Main Line, a 25/75 wool cotton blend, in the colorway Silver Sage. I made the 37 3/4 inch size, with no modifications. My row gauge was off, but it only made for roomier arms and a longer cardigan, both of which I wanted! I cast on immediately upon receiving the yarn, and finished sometime in February of 2007. I would have finished sooner, but took a break to make a baby blanket for my niece, who arrived at the end of January.

The Celtic knot cables were so much fun to knit, and I took the time to learn to cable without using a cable needle, making it go by much faster. I never really memorized the cable pattern, as it is somewhat complicated, but it is reversible, so even when the cardigan is hanging open, the cable band still looks lovely. The pointy hood is to give it an elfish air, since the cardigan was designed with Arwen from the Lord of the Rings in mind. I think it works, don’t you?

This is such a comfortable, warm cardigan, and I wear it quite frequently. The pattern is easy to follow, and with minimal shaping, this is a great knit for someone who hasn’t done much garment knitting. Of all the things I’ve knit, this is my probably my favorite, and definitely the one I wear most often. I love it! Just looking at it has made me want to start knitting something with more beautiful cables.

Thoughts?

