Hedera Socks Complete!

8 Aug

Last night I finished the second of the Hedera Socks! Yea! I love them, the color is superfantastic, I am a happy knitter. Click on the picture to make it extremely large (like, it won’t fit in your browser and you can see my leg freckles large – but it gives a great view of the lace pattern!).

Pattern: Hedera by Cookie A, from Knitty

Size: smaller one

Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Supersock in the Jewels potluck colorway.

Okay, I live under a rock, and this was my first experience with Crack Tree Hill, and I love it! The twist, the colors, the softness – fabulous! The only thing I didn’t like was that the dye is so rich my fingers were stained a greenish color every day I knit on these socks. I think the dye seepage was not improved upon by the mass amounts of humidity we have been experiencing.

Needles: Susan Bates sock needles, size 1 (my favorite brand of sock needles)

Modifications: None

Notes: If I knit this pattern again, which I might, because I really like it, I would do the heel differently. The heel flap is 24 repeats ([sl1, p1] for a row, k1 across the next row). That made for eternally lasting gusset decreases to the tune of 17 decrease rounds! The end result is a very roomy instep, great for people with large ankles or a wide/flat foot. It doesn’t fit my skinny, high arched feet quite that well, though. I can actually grab the excess material at the bottom of my foot. I’m afraid they won’t stay on when I wear them with shoes, but that has yet to be seen.

Still, they’re so pretty I had to remind myself that it is eleventy billion degrees outside, and too hot to warrant wearing wool socks. Even if they are lacy wool socks.

Apparently, I totally kicked it into high gear to finish this sock – it took 3 days of on and off knitting from cast on to kitchener! That’s really fast for me, please feel free to laugh if that’s slow for you. I’m paying for it, too – after I finished my wrists were really sore. Also, I dropped the sock on my lap at one point last night and reached a bit too quickly to pick it up. Thus, I managed to impale my hand on my sock needle! Do you see the teeny little red spot of blood? It’s still sore now, when I place things just so in my hand!

Alas, the price we knitters pay for really awesome socks!
5 Responses to “Hedera Socks Complete!”

  1. katiedid August 8, 2007 at 12:37 pm #

    Wow, you are QUICK! I remember knitting that Hedera pattern though, it’s easy to get hooked on the “just one more pattern repeat” mantra.

    They look great!

  2. Dawn August 8, 2007 at 3:01 pm #

    Your socks are “Fab” and I love the color! You are such a speed Demon. I have the Hedera pattern and had thought of knitting a pair…now I know the Hederas are a must have. Bring them with you to knit night to show off!

  3. Anonymous August 8, 2007 at 4:56 pm #

    Last time i did the Hadera i loved it so much I ended up making a pair for all three of my sisters! I love your work, thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Elke August 8, 2007 at 5:03 pm #

    Your socks are lovely!

    For what it’s worth, I’ve worked with CTH yarns and didn’t have the dye issue. It was probably just that colorway.

    The fact that you photographed your injury means you’re officially a blogger (and a hardcore knitter).

  5. Juli August 9, 2007 at 12:57 pm #

    BEAUTIFUL! I’m working with CTH right now, and am not having the seepage issue .. strange. Maybe you got a heavily dyed skein or something .. but the socks are gorgeous!

Thoughts?

