A Few Things

4 Aug

1. Okay, so. I got my invite to Ravelry about a month ago, and finally got it set up last weekish. You may already know, since I added a few of you as friends recently.

I went and added the projects that I still have on hand, now I just need to take pictures of the older ones and upload all my pics so you guys can see them all on Ravelry! I know its hard, but please try to contain your excitement.

Oh, I have given myself the very creative moniker of “Gena”. My creativity knows no bounds! Feel free to find me and add me as a friend; in fact, I encourage you to do so, because I am lazy and really bad at taking full advantage of these social networking sites.

2. I am working on the gusset decreases of the second of Mom’s socks. I am going pretty fast now that I’ve set my mind to it! Also, the X Games are on TV, so I’ve had plenty of extreme sports watching to knit along with. Have the words “extreme sports” and “knit” ever appeared in a sentence together before? Does anyone else find that amusing?

In case you’re wondering (you’re probably not, but I’m going to tell you anyway) my favorite events are Bike Dirt (BMX on a dirt course), Step Up (high jump on dirt bikes!), and Freestyle Moto X. Of course, the Big Air events are wicked awesome, except when you watch Jake Brown launch off his skateboard and fall 4 stories to land on his back. That’s not wicked awesome. That’s wicked painful. The video of the fall is not for the faint of heart, just so you know.

3. In lighter news, I finished sewing together the bag for my niece. I think it’s pretty cute, and I hope her Mama likes it! Now I just need to pick up fabric and make one for my nephew. Back (with sock included for scale), front, lining and pockets are what you see in the pictures.

I told GP the other day that I’m glad I picked up this sewing thing. I can sew even when the carpal tunnel is acting up, and it was the past couple of weeks (which is part of why the knitting has been so eh lately).

4. Lastly, because the X Games are on again, and I have to go watch and knit, I have frogged the Alpine Knit Shawl. Okay, here’s the deal. I still like the pattern, but it definitely needs to be knit in a lighter color, in my opinion. The dark yarn was obscuring the diamonds, and I didn’t like it. Besides, I really want to make a triangular shawl this time, so I’m searching around for a pattern that would work.

This yarn is some seriously old laceweight that Elke gifted to me. It feels alright in the skein, but is kinda scratchy all knit up. This may be a result of the moth proofing treatment (whatever that is) that it was subjected to, I’m not really sure. I plan on washing the skein that isn’t balled up, to see if some of the crunch comes out with a washing or soaking or 3 or 4.

5. Apparently (in case you didn’t notice) I have a thing for parentheses today.
3 Responses to “A Few Things”

  1. trek August 5, 2007 at 9:56 am #

    Well, you know my suggestion will be Moonlight Sonata from Elann…

  2. Elke August 5, 2007 at 12:50 pm #

    Ah, this post brought back memories of watching the X-games during our annual beach vacations. It’s been a few years since I’ve been able to join the family for one of those, so the memories were much appreciated.

    I’m sorry the wool is crunchy when it’s knitted up! I promise I wasn’t trying to fob off crappy yarn on you. =/ May I recommend Zephyr Wool/Silk? I got mine at Sarah’s Yarns for $5.75/630m. She has a ton of colors to chose from, too. My package is due to arrive on Monday, so I’ll bring it by for show & tell this week.

  3. Juli August 5, 2007 at 7:25 pm #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the bag!!!! I just may have to commission you to make one for me 🙂

Thoughts?

