I Like Procrastinating

15 Jul

Well. This weekend I was supposed to get the house all cleaned up and pack up for our trip, which starts TOMORROW! I did a bit of cleaning on Friday, and then made this:

I got the idea from Laura at affiknitty. The fantastic tutorial can be found here. I used ribbon instead of tape, and used scrap fabric I had laying around. The outside is a lightweight cotton, but the inside is good sturdy denim from my old dorm room curtains. For a first actual sewing project, I’m quite pleased!

So then I decided that I needed a larger bag to take on vacation with me, so that I can fit loads of junk in it. I mean, I could carry around a backpack, but I don’t really want to. Instead, I trotted off to JoAnne’s last night at 8:30, bought some good sturdy fabric, and went to work.

A few hours later, I had this:

I totally made it up on my own, so it is a little wonky in spots and the seams aren’t all that great. But I learned a lot doing it, and think I did a pretty nice job for being a complete sewing novice. And see, I even put a few little pockets on the inside for whatever little bitties I feel like putting in there!

The zipper took a few tries, because I kept sewing the fabric to the wrong side of the zipper, but I finally got it!

After a good pressing, I think it looks pretty sharp. It is about 15″ long, 9″ tall, and 6″ wide. Should fit all my stuff, a knitting project or two, a book (or two) and lunch goodies for when we are walking around seeing the sights. And, it is much more fashionable than the backpack I have had since high school. Yes, I do have a smug smile on my face right now!

Proof that I still knit:

The monkey socks have now become Marigold socks. These are much smaller, so they fit my small feet, and I love the pattern! You can’t get a good look at it from the pattern’s pictures, and I hope I have captured it well here. Bonus: reducing the number of stitches appears to have solved the strange pooling problem I had with the Monkey.

Well, all my clothes are ironed and await being put in the suitcase. Now I’m off to finish cleaning! I won’t be posting while on vacation, but I promise pictures and stories when I get back.

Have a great week, everyone!
4 Responses to “I Like Procrastinating”

  1. Elke July 15, 2007 at 2:49 pm #

    !!! I love that second bag! Did you use a sewing machine? I find that I seldom tackle anything seamstress-y because I have to hand-sew everything which is a pain (and my seams look as if I were intoxicated).

    I have some friends who went to Italy, and they said that in the larger cities the gypsies are really grabby. They generally discourage carrying any sort of bag, but rather to keep your money in one of those pouches that slips under your clothing.

    Have fun and travel safe. I can’t wait to see all of your pictures when you get back!

  2. trek July 15, 2007 at 4:55 pm #

    Nice job on the bags!

  3. Karen July 15, 2007 at 5:04 pm #

    I love the bags – the second one is georgous…you’re picking up sewing quick! The socks are looking good. Have fun in Italy – travel safe 🙂

  4. pamela wynne July 18, 2007 at 1:44 am #

    such cute bags! and I love the colors of your Marigolds!

Thoughts?

