Public Displays of Dorkiness

11 Jul
Wow! Order of the Phoenix was great, and all you HP fans out there should run and see it immediately! No, really. You can read this post later – go see the movie. I’ll even come with you. That being said, if you haven’t read the book, please do so before you see the movie. It’ll make a lot more sense if you have the whole story in your head!

Since the movie didn’t start until midnight, GP and I had quite a bit of time to kill yesterday evening. So we sat around watching season 2 of The Office, and I finished the first of the Hedera socks. Naturally, I put it on and pranced around the house in it.

As much as I love this pattern and yarn, I do have a slight problem with it. Namely, the heel flap is really long, which is saying something as I like a longer than normal heel flap, and after picking up the gusset stitches you have to decrease from 98 stitches back down to 64ish. That’s a lot of decreases, and it makes for a really roomy instep. Which is great if you need the room, but I have high arches and kinda skinny feet! To compensate for the extra room I knit the foot a bit shorter and will stretch it upon blocking to take out the extra width and give myself the extra length.

After finishing that one up, I decided to treat the startitis I am still suffering from, and cast on for a new sock! This on will most likely be a Monkey sock, but I’m kinda not feeling it right now. I think the bandwagon is a little too full, and I’m not sure if I will fit if I jump on it. I have an arsenal of other patterns I’m looking through to try and make up my mind. If you’ve got any suggestions, throw ’em out in the comments.

Just for variety’s sake, I decided to do this one toe-up. I relied upon my sub-superior memory to help me with the toe (read: I was too lazy to move 7 feet to the computer and look it up), and I’m pretty sure this is the figure 8 cast on method, although there may be significant variations. Whatever it is, it is definitely a toe, and it is definitely not perfect. I attempted to cast on 20 stitches total, but somehow wound up with only 18. Not sure how that happened, but it is possible that my math skills are so pathetic that I am unable to count properly. Okay, my skills aren’t that bad, I just like to exaggerate.

I almost completely finished the toe increases while sitting in the theatre waiting for the movie to start, fully aware that a 25 year old knitting at a midnight showing of Harry Potter has to set some sort of record for Public Displays of Dorkiness. But I don’t care! I embrace my dorkiness, and you should too!

2 Responses to “Public Displays of Dorkiness”

  1. Elke July 11, 2007 at 6:04 pm #

    Hooray for prancing! Is the sock delighfully smooshy?

    You mentioned that you’re 25 and I sat here pondering for a minute how we were the same age, yet you’re a year ahead of me. Of course it’s because I worked as a technician for a year, but it started this whole envyfest. I sat here thinking “If I’d gone straight to grad school I writing for my quals! *pout pout pout*”

  2. Karen July 12, 2007 at 9:09 am #

    I love that Hedera sock – I must add it to my list. You’re handdyed is soo pretty too. I’m seeing Harry Potter this afternoon – can’t wait – and will most likely be knitting on my sock as well. I LOVE The Office. Mick hadn’t seen it, so we just finished the first two seasons – we’ve just been watching and knitting for days 🙂

Thoughts?

