Mortification

6 Jul
Here, look at something pretty. Okay, I’m ready to tell a story.

Do you like my new shoes?

I do. I decided to wear them out today to run a very important errand. This was the first time I wore them. I decided to take the puppy with me, since like all dogs, he likes to ride in the car and hang his little puppy head out the window. Out the door we go!

Do you see where this is going? Right. I took one step down and whoosh! I slid. Almost stopped, but then started sliding again. Finally, about 2 steps from the bottom, I came to a halt. Image me sprawled all along those steps, my purse in my right hand held out in front of me, my left arm extended behind me, holding the leash and doing my best not to jerk the dog down along with me. Cute, huh?

I look up in my non-graceful position and see the natural gas man, parked in the parking spot right in front of me, having witnessed the entire scene. Thankfully he is not laughing. Naturally, I did the only thing I could think to do: I smiled and waved. Nice man that he is, he got out of his truck and asked if I was okay. To which I answered “a little embarrassed, but fine, really.”

Off I run to GP’s place of business to share the story with him. Of course, I suppose I could have tried to keep this to myself and pretend it didn’t happen, but my left forearm took quite a beating, and I can already see the beginnings of spectacular bruises. Additionally, most of the impact was absorbed by my left glute, so a slight limp might be happening. GP would notice. And besides, its too funny a story not to share! Still, to add insult to injury, somewhere in all these goings-ons, I have managed to misplace my cell phone. Because what fun is injury without insult, right?

So, what was this very important errand, and was it worth suffering bodily harm for?


You bet it was!

Once I got back home, I partook in a little self medication.

All better now!
9 Responses to “Mortification”

  1. Juli July 6, 2007 at 7:57 pm #

    I’m glad that you are okay, but I have to admit you had me laughing. I always laugh when people fall down, even when i fall down myself I laugh uncontrolably. That must have been a sight!

  2. Elke July 7, 2007 at 8:02 am #

    The first time I went to meet Anousone I fell down the stairwell in his house (it’s really steep and the stairs are shallow). I fell from the second step all the way to the bottom (ended up smooshed against his feet where he’d tried to catch me. His response: “Well, you did warn me you were clumsy.” Little does he know I was sporting carpet burns on my back for a week.

    I’m glad to hear you (and Clark) are okay. And while they may be dangerously slippery, those shoes are still v. cute.

  3. katiedid July 7, 2007 at 11:55 am #

    Oh my gosh, how embarrassing! Sounds like you handled it more gracefully than I would have.

    The Harry Potter tickets totally make up for it though. Fun!

  4. Knitman July 8, 2007 at 9:33 am #

    oops! I’d have to stay well away from those stairs…
    I am looking forward to the next HP book, out this month.

  5. Karen July 8, 2007 at 9:38 pm #

    pretty shoes – glad you’re ok! All worth it for Harry Potter – I cant wait to see it!

  6. Anonymous July 9, 2007 at 2:37 pm #

    Hey-its me Lauren! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Now Gena, you know that I am so allowed to laugh at you because you have laughed at me many a times falling like this. The fall was worth it for Harry Potter!! I am glad that you are ok though-I would love to have seen Clark’s little puppy face though. ๐Ÿ™‚ And…LOVE the shoes!!

  7. Anonymous July 10, 2007 at 5:46 pm #

    This is elke’s little sister, Hannah. I hope you are okay and your puppy is too! Those Harry Potter tickets were way totally worth it though! The shoes are cute too!!!

  8. Elke July 10, 2007 at 9:13 pm #

    OMG!!! Hannah you’ve never commented on MY blog!! You’re sooo not my friend anymore. D:<

  9. GP July 10, 2007 at 10:10 pm #

    I’ll be there to catch you next time!

Thoughts?

