Diagnosis: Startitis

29 Jun

There is a good chance that all the rainy weather that has been pounding not only where I live, but where my family lives as well, has put a permanent damper on my energy level. All I seem to want to do is sleep! Now, I do love sleeping – it may be one of my favorite past times. Unfortunately, the desire to sleep or otherwise be incredibly lazy seems to have taken over my mind and body. When I get home from work the first thing I do lately is take a nap! If I’m lucky or rejuvenated, I’ll manage to knit a little while reading or watching TV.

And there has been ample TV to watch lately, because Wimbledon has started! You probably don’t know this about me, but tennis is one of my all time favorite sports to watch. I don’t really play tennis (truth be told, I try, and it is probably really funny to watch since I am somewhat lacking in the hand-eye coordination department) but I do still love to watch. At work, the internet live scoreboard is constantly up on my computer, and I can be heard saying such things as “Come on, Blake! That’s the way, Andy!” or alternatively “Oh come on! You can do better than that.”

So please forgive my lack of exciting knitting; I just haven’t felt up to it. Haven’t felt the pull of a new project or heard the siren song of a particular yarn. Although I suppose one must have ample yarn available to hear it’s siren song. For now, I leave you with a few pictures of what I have managed to eek out in the few skimpy hours I have dedicated to knitting this week. You may be able to tell from the content below, but I am suffering from a case of the dreaded startitis. Hopefully it doesn’t get any worse.


Mom’s boring socks (because I need something to knit while I read). I do think they are coming out nicely, and look just fine without any sort of stitch pattern. After all, fast striping is eye-catching enough by itself. Most stitch patterns would be obscured by all the stripey goodness. For some reason, though, this makes me want to eat lots of Skittles. Maybe it’s the lovely Cool-Aid smell.


Hedera Socks, knit with Cherry Tree Hill Supersock. Started this on Wednesday, after a long and luxurious nap. Oh, isn’t it just lovely? I really can’t get enough of this pattern and this yarn. A perfect marriage of textile and texture. The only drawback is that the blues in the yarn rub off on my fingers, leaving streaks on random places of my hands.


Baby Sundress, knit from the salvaged remnants of a tank top gone awry. I am actually finding it challenging to knit on size 10.5 needles, after all the work (okay, not really that much work) I’ve been doing on size 3s and below. Quite a change! Ribbon yarn, however, is not the most pleasant to work with. It twists and gets mad at you if you don’t untwist it. It’s also slightly rough on the hands, as there’s no oils or anything present. Kind of like knitting with cotton for dishcloths or really cheap acrylic yarns. I need to step it up, though. Or at the rate I’m knitting this thing, the baby will be too large to get the dress over her head, much less actually wear it!

3 Responses to “Diagnosis: Startitis”

  1. Juli June 30, 2007 at 5:07 pm #

    AH! I was eyeballing that Hedera pattern to try next! Seeing yours is really making me want to do it now!

  2. Elke June 30, 2007 at 5:57 pm #

    Yeah, that Kool-aid yarn does smell yummy. I had a little dyeing party with my baby sister and her friend last weekend. We decided that orange yarn smells best.

  3. Karen July 2, 2007 at 9:40 am #

    the socks are looking good! The socks for your mom are striping so nice – I just order some bare yarn from knitpicks for dying 🙂

Thoughts?

