Phase 5: Complete

20 Jun

Do you see anything missing from the Maltese Shawl? That’s right – NEEDLES!

Remember, lace looks like junk until it is blocked. The transformation is magic, and completely worth all the hard work that came before in Phases 1-5.

My knitting mojo was in full steam last night, and I managed to plow my way through 5 border repeats of the Maltese shawl while fully participating in conversations at knit nite. And not a single mistake! I rule! When I got home, I finished the last 2 repeats, made multiple attempts to graft the cast-on edge to the final stitches, finally succeeded, and wove in all the remaining ends. Fortunately, I had woven in most of the ends as I went, so there were only a few left. Ah, the joy of having had forethought.


Of course, once this was done, I did what any rational knitter would do. I cast on for a pair of socks. Blocking shall commence as soon as I have cleaned off the bedroom floor and vaccumed, because no one likes shawls covered in pet hair.

One Response to “Phase 5: Complete”

  1. Elke June 22, 2007 at 8:39 pm #

    Congratulations! Have you blocked it yet? Just how big is this titan going to be?

Thoughts?

