Preparations

17 Jun

Let me start by saying Thank You to ever one who commented on the Josephine top – both on and off the blog. You all make me smile hugely!

I actually love preparing for upcoming events, but rarely ever take the time to do so. As I am waiting on the arrival of some yarn to finish the Maltese Shawl, I really have nothing on the needles that is calling my attention.

So, I am instead preparing for Summer of Socks. Yarn is being wound, patterns are being scoured, and swatches will be made. Swatches? For socks? I never swatch for socks. This time, however, I am swatching. Knowing how the color runs in the yarn Mom and I died will fall is necessary to pick an appropriate pattern that will not be overtaken by the color changes. Also, the KnitPicks base yarn seems to be slightly thicker than sock yarns I’m used to using, so I need to determine guage and proper needle sizes there as well.

Really, though, I just seem to be in a knitting rut since finishing up Josephine. Perhaps it is because I have no other major projects picked to tackle next. Maybe it’s because summer is upon us, and all I can think about is how I would rather be outdoors enjoying the sunlight and warmth than sitting on the couch (or at work, for that matter!). Or possibly I just need to spend some quality time in stockinette land to rediscover my desire to knit something more exciting and challenging. To be completely honest, I haven’t knit a stitch since I made that tiny hat. Hard to believe, but it’s true.

Next post will have real knitting content. You can hold me to it.

2 Responses to “Preparations”

  1. Elke June 17, 2007 at 6:47 pm #

    Haha, I just made a blog post and decided to check on your blog only to realize that we’re both talking about preparations today!

  2. Karen June 19, 2007 at 1:56 pm #

    I’m planning for summer of socks too! I still need to pick my first pattern..hmm. See you tomorrow!

Thoughts?

