At long last

13 Jun

Here she is! Managed to get a few pics outside before the rain came down, and one more close up when I got back home from Knit night.


Pattern: Josephine Top from the current Summer IK

Size: 36′ bust (smallest)

Yarn: Wendy luxury cotton DK

Needles: size 3 Crystal palace circular and DPNs
Mods: None, actually. Although I had contemplated changing the armholes, I really liked the pattern best after all. I did change something very minor, in that I didn’t pay attention to the number of stitches I picked up around the neck and hemlines. But that sort of thing doesn’t matter too much anyway.

Start Date: May 12, 2007 (or really close to)
Finish Date: June 11, 2007

Thoughts: Love love love! This may be my best looking and best fitting FO to date. You know how they always come out a little bigger or smaller than you planned for? Not this one! And the best part about it is that it is so versatile. Wear with jeans, bermuda shorts, or a denim skirt for casual – pair it with dark slacks and a lacey camisole and it can be dressy. Who could ask for more?

For those who are considering making this top, I highly recommend it. Very simple pattern that turns out a very elegant and classy top. I also think it would be great made from hemp or bamboo yarns. Those fibers would change the drape and make it a bit more clingy, but it would still look fabulous.
5 Responses to “At long last”

  1. Ann Marie June 13, 2007 at 8:55 pm #

    Hey Gena,
    I meant to remark on your top tonight – it is beautiful! Now I want to knit it:)
    Saw a pic of the puppy too! What a cutie.
    Have a great rest of the week.

  2. Elke June 13, 2007 at 9:21 pm #

    I like the way your sleeves turned out much better than in the magazine. I bet Josephine becomes an essential in your summer wardrobe. Great work! 🙂

  3. trek June 15, 2007 at 3:33 pm #

    Looks great!

  4. Lolly June 16, 2007 at 2:56 pm #

    Wow, that is so cute! Congrats on such a pretty and versatile knit! I am sure you will wear it often 🙂

  5. nonaKnits June 24, 2007 at 4:39 pm #

    Your Josephine Top turned out beautifully and fits you really well. I like how you’ve paired it with a striped top. I look forward to finishing mine soon!

Thoughts?

