Blocking

12 Jun

Yesterday, I got home from a particularly heinous day and finished up Josephine. She is currently drying from a wet block with a fan blowing directly across her.


I stretched the bottom hem out more than the pattern suggests, as I would like this top to lie flat across my hips and not bunch up around them. Suprisingly, I also went with the cap sleeves instead of altering them as I had originally planned. I didn’t look like a linebacker, and really think the caps finish the wide shoulders off nicely. My sleeve caps somehow also came out smaller than they look in the pattern pictures. Don’t really know why or how that happened, but I do like the end product!

I also stretched it a bit more lengthwise to accommodate my long torso. After it dries, I’ll put it on a hanger and see how much it will grow. It is cotton, after all! I’ll have to get someone to take an “action shot” at knit nite tomorrow so I can write a proper FO post.

Now there is really only one thing left to finish: the tie that goes through the eyelet row. I did start it, but the directions are cast on 300, bind off 300. I got kinda tired about halfway through the bind off row, what can I say?
Now that this one is done, I will be searching in earnest for a ball of yarn to finish the Maltese shawl. Then, we’ll be on to something new. I’ve got to swatch and wash the lace weight I wrote about last post, and then maybe there will be a new lace project in the future! Woo Hoo! Oh, and the Summer of Socks starts in just a few short weeks; I’ve been waiting for this to cast on with all my sock yarn.
One Response to “Blocking”

  1. Karen June 13, 2007 at 11:41 am #

    I can’t wait to see it on you! I finished up my tank last night, and am wearing it right now. See you tonight 🙂

Thoughts?

