Knitting in Public

10 Jun

Yesterday was World Wide Knit in Public Day. Karen, Elke and I did our part to represent the knitters out there. Here they are (I am behind the camera), and here’s all our stuff on the table. And check out the half-sock Elke is showing off!

Elke gifted me with some navy laceweight yarn. It’s old and doesn’t have yardage listed, but I am guessing each 50 g hank has about 400 yards or so. It also doesn’t specify what fiber it is, but we can determine what it is not. It is not merino or cashmere, based on the scratchy hand. And it’s definately not silk. I’m going to make a swatch of a pattern I have in mind and see if it softens up with a wash. The label says it is “mothproofed,” whatever that means, and I’m wondering if whatever treatment that is made the yarn scratchier and if it will wash out.

The Josephine top is almost done! The peices have been steamed and seamed. Now I just need to finish the neckband and bottom edges and decide how to finish the arms. I’ve done one armhole by just finishing the same as the neckband, and I’m going to do the other according to the pattern; then I’ll decide which actually looks better. After that, a nice dunk and dry and it’ll be done! I did try it on after seaming, and it fits fantastically! I should have it finished in time to wear to knit nite. The puppy helped me pin it out. He’s a great little helper, and isn’t he so cute?

3 Responses to “Knitting in Public”

  1. Elke June 10, 2007 at 10:11 pm #

    Thanks for hanging out on Saturday, and offering your home for movie-watching. We really should do this more often. I hope the wool works well for the pattern you have in mind. And I’m crossing my fingers that it will soften up after a good soak. I’d hate to be the girl who gifted you with crappy yarn!

    Have a good week.

  2. Lolly June 11, 2007 at 12:09 am #

    It looks like you had fun!! I did a little meetup for knitting in public day too 🙂

    I can’t wait to see the top. It is so pretty!

  3. Karen June 11, 2007 at 1:53 pm #

    I had so much fun getting to know you better this weekend, and just hanging out – we should definitely do it again. I can’t wait to see the top on you! Mine is almost done, so hopefully I’ll have it too 🙂

Thoughts?

