Summer Reading

7 Jun

What is it about summer that re-awakens the desire to read a good book? Is it the idea of sitting out by a pool or on the beach indulging in the happenings of someone else’s life? Or is it the need to be entertained now that the TV season has ended?

Whatever the cause, I know that come summer, I have a strong desire to enjoy some really great books. This weekend I did pick up a couple of books at the bookstore, one of which I have been wanting to read for a very long time. My library card needs to be used this summer, so I am asking you, readers, for advice.

What are your favorite books? What have you read that you recommend? And, if you’re looking for some new books to read, there have been many posts regarding reading material lately. Ysolda and Trek have posted lists of short stories and novels, respectively. I will probably try a few off of each of their lists, and if you would like, I can give my own opinion and recommendation.

Random Thursday

1. I mopped the kitchen floor at 6 am today.
2. The boss is out of town, so my co-workers and I are going in late today! Which for me, sadly, means about 9 am.
3. I love running! Now this is odd, because when I was younger I abhorred running. Thought it was the worst form of exercise ever. Now, I enjoy it as both a form of exercise and a stress busting activity.
4. Instead of going to work at my normal hour today, I am sitting at my desk, drinking coffee and knitting. The perfect morning!

2 Responses to “Summer Reading”

  1. Juli June 7, 2007 at 12:48 pm #

    Well, my MOST FAVORITE book in the whole world is and always will be, “Daisy Fay & the Miracle Man”, by Fannie Flagg. I’s so cute and adorable and really makes me feel like I’m a kid again when I read it πŸ™‚ ALL of Fannie Flagg’s books are great I think πŸ™‚

  2. trek June 12, 2007 at 9:20 pm #

    Nice to know someone is interested in what I read!

Thoughts?

