Dried and wound!

5 Jun

Last night, while Mom and I sat around and watched movies, I skeined up the dyed yarn. Here it is for your veiwing pleasure!

Mom’s yarn:

My yarn:

Is it just me, or do they remind anyone else of Rainbow Brite? The colors are very true, I photographed them in the morning light coming through the window. They’ll both probably end up as socks, and I’ve been itching to make some Monkey socks. Maybe some fruity socks are in my future as a part of the Summer of Socks.

As for the Maltese shawl, I think it will be a race to the finish: knitting fast to outrun the end of the yarn. I scoured the LYS for another ball of the yarn, but no luck. Mom and I then spent about an hour trying to salvage all the yarn we could from the ball the dog had decided was a chew toy. This is what we were able to save:

It may be enough, since I have about a third left to finish. At the end of the day, we lost about a third of a ball, and I did have extra yardage when I started out. Here’s hoping the yardage stated in the book is accurate; goodness knows they aren’t always right!

4 Responses to “Dried and wound!”

  1. Juli June 5, 2007 at 6:06 pm #

    the yarn is so freaking GORGEOUS!!! I’m really gonna order some Miss Babs soon so we can dye some together. I need your dyeing expertise, yo! Great seeing you today!

  2. Elke June 5, 2007 at 9:32 pm #

    Behold! The magic of re-skeining handpainted yarn. They’re both lovely. 🙂 Bring your socks tomorrow; I want to see the design up close! I may have something to show off in return.

  3. Laura June 5, 2007 at 10:03 pm #

    The yarns are lovely and look so summery!

  4. Karen June 5, 2007 at 10:05 pm #

    that is fabulous! I am now totally convinced I MUST learn to dye yarn…I vote for a yarn dying party – I’ll need some help. I can’t wait to see what you make with it 🙂

Thoughts?

