Late night post

4 Jun
I have re-started the design socks, which have been named Calcetines del Agua (water socks). I’ve left the traveling stitches in tact, but have changed one highly textured motif to a more simple YO k2tog motif. It looks much nicer, and shows up better in the variegated Trekking yarn. I am pleased with it!

I was knitting these on my new Crystal Palace Bamboo size 0’s and got a little scared that I would snap a needle while cabling. So I switched back to my old favorites. Lo and behold, it turns out that all the while I’ve thought I was knitting socks on size 0’s, I have actually been knitting them on 00’s. No wonder when I went down a needle size one time, I felt like I was working with toothpicks; they were 000’s! Good to know, I guess. And I suppose my new bamboo needles will be reserved for plain St st socks from now on. Just a little paranoia, I suppose.

I mentioned in my last post that the front of Josephine was well underway. Here is the proof:

Like I said, very fast knit, and very enjoyable.

Tomorrow I’ll show you skeined yarn from the yarn dyeing extravaganza! It looks great, and I’m excited about knitting it up! But for now, it’s bedtime!
One Response to “Late night post”

  1. Gina June 9, 2007 at 12:35 pm #

    I’m surfing around considering making Josephine myself and wanting to see what others might think of it. I have an embarassing stash of Butterfly 10 that would probably work. Ordinarily, I would just lurk, but since you are another Gina, I had to comment. Lovely top!

Thoughts?

