Fruit Salad

3 Jun

That’s what it smells like in our place right now. Rainy mornings lend themselves well to indoor activities, so Mom and I dyed up some yarn.

We started with KnitPicks Bare fingering weight in superwash. Mine was dyed first, in case we screwed up horribly! After messy dye application, it was wrapped up and zapped in the microwave.

Next, we did Mom’s. We started by pouring some dye on, and then attacking the white spots with a dropper of dye. We used many packets of Cool-Aide to acheive just the right colors for us.

After nuking hers, letting the yarn cool down, and rinsing it really well, we hung it over the shower curtain rod in the bathroom to dry. We’re both quite pleased with how our colors turned out.

I just love the turquoise color in Mom’s yarn (on the left)! I may have to dye up a batch that color myself. It has a very nice mottled effect where the yarn took up more or less amounts of dye. We didn’t have enough yellow to completely dye that section of my yarn (on the right), so there is still plenty white, but I’m okay with that. It actually goes pretty well with the fruity color scheme, and since it’ll go on to be socks, I’m not too worried. Not bad for a first attempt at yarn dyeing, I don’t think!

Anywho, we had a lot of fun last night. Walked around the downtown area, ate at a great restaurant, stopped in a local pub for some brews, and came home to watch some movies! Of course, some knitting was done as well. The front of Josephine is well underway, and the socks I’m designing are re-started. Cuff down this time, ’cause it’s what I like best! The Maltese shawl is also coming along – almost at the last set of corners, then a straightaway! I’d guess I’ve got 30% of the border left to do. Not too shabby, as long as I don’t run out of yarn.
2 Responses to “Fruit Salad”

  1. Karen June 3, 2007 at 9:32 pm #

    ooh, what fun! Those yarns look great – can’t wait to see it knit up. I’m glad you’re having such a good time with your mom 🙂

  2. Darius Berdin November 21, 2012 at 4:07 am #

    When it comes to Salads, i always love fruit salad and russian salad. :

    <a href="Most up-to-date blog post from our online site
    http://www.caramoantravel.com/caramoan-hotels/

Thoughts?

