On Anticipation

30 May

My Mom will be here tomorrow! I’m very excited, if you can’t tell.

I haven’t seen my mom since March, which is a ridiculously long time for us. Growing up, we always lived at most an hour away from all my family: aunts, uncles, cousins, grandparents. Even in college I would make the trip home almost every other weekend to see my family and friends in my hometown.

But a few years ago I moved halfway across the country (literally) and no longer get to go home so often. We didn’t even get home (to either of our families) for Thanksgiving this year. It’s been really rough for a homebody like me to adjust. So Mom and I have learned to cope by talking on the phone every morning. And I mean every morning. For about 20 minutes or so. Sometimes we even talk 3 or 4 times a day. We’re close like that.

Tomorrow she’ll be here, and we can start having some mother-daughter fun. The only problem is, we’ve done pretty much everything there is to do in town, here. So I’m scraping for ideas. Any tips from the locals would be most welcome! What we’ll probably end up doing is the usual for us: see lots of movies (both at the theatre and rented), sit around and read books by the pool (whoop!), eat at lots of restaurants (any great local ones I’m missing?), and generally be really lazy. Who could ask for more? I have planned some yarn dyeing activities, and we’ll probably go tour the historic parts of town (something I haven’t done either). At any rate, I’m just glad she’ll be in town.

In preparation, GP and I need to get the house clean! Of course, I’ll still be at knit night tonight, because the house doesn’t need to be that clean.

In Knitting News:
1. I have made it to 2 and a half border repeats past the halfway point of the Maltese shawl. No pictures, because it all looks the same at this point. I’ve still got about 5 weeks to finish this baby up, so I’m doing great on time. I will most likely have to pick up another ball of yarn to replace the one the dog tied in knots. Otherwise, I’d be dead on for yardage.

2. The sock design is not working. The chart I came up with is pretty and all, but would be better suited for a larger canvas. I’ll be coming up with something else, but still retaining the water theme. I guess that’s how it goes with design.

3. No more progress on Josephine. The armhole shaping requires counting, and after work the last couple of days my brain has not wanted to function properly. And since I hate to rip out stupid mistakes, I have been proactive and only worked on simple things.

Okay, before I hit novel length I will sign off. Woo Hoo, I can’t wait for tomorrow!

3 Responses to “On Anticipation”

  1. Karen May 30, 2007 at 9:01 am #

    local restraunts – I don’t know where you usually go, but I can tell you a few of my favorite Winston Salem only places.

    I looove Mary’s of Course – excellent brunch!, Sweet Potatoes, 6th and Vine…some friends of mine went to Milner’s last night, and said it was great. Just some ideas – those are some places I go with my out of town friends.

    See you tonight!

  2. Juli May 30, 2007 at 10:35 pm #

    Thanks again for helping me with my i-cord tonight! You and your mom should go to Tanglewood and do the paddle boat thingies! I’ve been wanting to do that for awhile now, actually. 🙂

  3. Elke May 31, 2007 at 5:34 pm #

    Does your mom like pottery? There is a place called “An originals by you” (on Reynolda Rd) where you buy the bisque and paint it yourself. They fire it and you pick it up a week later. The total cost for bisque + painting fees is about $25-30 per piece. Also, there is a town about an hour from here that is a pottery community; Seagrove, NC. There are over 90 artists living within a 10-mile radius who all have their work for display and for sale (most of it is affordable, too!). You can check out some example artists at the website http://www.discoverseagrove.com

    Dr. M. keeps recommending an eatery behind the Village Tavern on Hanes Mall Blvd. It’s called Blue (but he says it with a crazy French accent so it may be Blu` or something else with unexpected symbols). Also, I second the vote for Sweet Potatoes!

    Have a great time with your mum!!!

Thoughts?

