Weekend Progress

27 May

I had a stroke of brilliance.
Unfortunately, once I got it off the makeshift ball winder it didn’t work so well. Just kind of fell apart into a round tube of yarn…Now it’s just a regular old ball of yarn. Oh, well. At least it didn’t take too long to rewind it, and there were no major tangles after all that.

That yarn has gone on to become part of Josephine. I’ve made it up to the shaping of the arm holes and upper back. Its a really nice knit; an easy but elegant pattern, quick to memorize, but still keeps the attention well.

So far I haven’t made any modifications to the pattern, but I am contemplating changing the armhole finishing. The armholes may be a little too wide for my shoulders, and no one likes to look like a linebacker, now do they? Unless they really are a linebacker, that is. So I may make the sleeve caps a bit smaller to keep them from coming so far down my shoulders. We’ll see!

The specs on Josphine:

Size: 36.5 inch bust

Yarn: Wendy Supreme Luxury cotton DK (color white)

Needles: size 3 Crystal Palace 24″ circulars

Guage: right on, even though I had to go down 2 needles sizes to obtain guage.

That’s about it so far. Two more repeats of the Maltese shawl are done, but that’s not much in the grand scheme of the border.

Happy Memorial Day everyone!

One Response to “Weekend Progress”

  1. Anonymous May 30, 2007 at 4:43 pm #

    I want to make that top too from IWK! Josephine. I think that is what it is called. Is it an easy knit?

    beth (big geek)

Thoughts?

