Random Thursday

24 May

No real knitting content today, as my wrists and elbow are doing some hurting. So instead I’ll post some random facts and tidbits in case anyone wants to learn a little more about me.

#1. Have you seen this? Summer of Socks. Considering I have plenty of sock yarn and will be doing some travelling, I have joined the along. You should too!

#2. My favorite things to knit are socks and lace. Had you asked me 3 years ago if I could ever imagine writing those words, I would have given you a very odd look. As it is, I find them both relaxing and rewarding, especially after having turned a heel or finishing a chart repeat. Small steps to the entire project, but signs of progress.

#3. I have a cat named Soup. He is not, as you may guess, named after the food genre, but after a favorite band of mine and my college roommate’s, Bowling for Soup. They’re a punk band out of Denton, Texas, so you may not have heard of them. Yes, you are missing out.

#4. I wish I had made the “We call them Pirates” hat in time for the latest Pirates of the Carribbean installment. Granted, it’s way too hot to be wearing a wool hat around, even in a cold movie theatre. I’ll probably make it sometime, though, since I need a new winter hat.

#5. I love to cook. As much as, if not more than, I love to knit. Rarely do I make the same recipe twice, even if it’s something that GP (my husband) and I both really enjoy. I own 13 cookbooks and occasionally use recipes from them, but usually make things up as I go. And it usually works out fine. Tonight, I had cereal for supper. I was lazy.

#6. Even though I am a college graduate, have been married for over 2 years, and am working toward a Ph.D, I still view myself as about 17 years old. Really, I seem to think everyone else is older and more mature than me, and am always suprised to find out that we’re really about the same age. Well alright, maybe everyone is more mature than me. I chalk it all up to still being a student and not having offically joined the “real world.”

#7. 7 is my favorite number, so I’ll end it here. This will be my first stress free summer in a long time. And I couldn’t be more glad! GP and I will finally be going on our honeymoon and travelling to Rome and potentially other spots in Italy. It will be wonderful!

Okay, that’s all I got for today. Next post will have some knitting content, I promise. Have a safe holiday weekend, if you’re traveling. And good luck, Elke, with your committee meeting tomorrow! You’ll do great!

2 Responses to “Random Thursday”

  1. Laura May 25, 2007 at 6:52 am #

    Hi Gena! Thanks for your comment on my blog. And thanks for the tip about Summer of Socks; I was planning on making socks a big part of my summer knitting so that is perfect.

    Also, I love Bowling for Soup. I especially like the song, Come Back to Texas … because I live in Cleveland! 🙂

  2. Elke May 26, 2007 at 8:02 pm #

    Aww, thank you for the well-wishes. The committe meeting went well. I’m so happy with my committee. I <3 them! We'll see if I still feel the same way after my cadidacy exam.

    Hope you’re able to knit again soon!

Thoughts?

