Forays into Design

22 May

Well, the carpal tunnel syndrome has been acting up lately, so very little knitting progress to show. So I turned my attention to some designing!


I purchased some Trekking XXL from KnitPicky a few weeks ago, and have been struggling with what to turn it into. A Jaywaylker? Or perhaps some Monkey socks? But none of the patterns out there were right. This yarn wanted to be something new, something original. On goes my thinking cap.

The colors are an array of blues, from a light sky blue to the darkest of denims, and the color repeats are short and sweet. It reminds me of the ocean and the variety of colors the sea gives off as the time of day changes. The design, then, will be of nautical inspiration!

I’ve charted up some nice cables to go down each side of the leg, and developed a travelling stitch pattern for both the front and back of the legs. The cables will be on the leg only, and the travelling stitches motif will cover the top of the foot as well.

It’s going to be toe-up, and I’ve already got the toe done, using toe #1 from Wendy’s newest basic sock pattern. So far I have two rows of chart covered. Hopefully it will work up beautifully and I’ll have more to show soon!

Other designs I’m contemplating are a cardigan for myself, and a cute little baby sundress for a cute baby girl I know, and one for a baby who will arrive in just a couple of months!

3 Responses to “Forays into Design”

  1. Karen May 22, 2007 at 10:34 pm #

    Hi Gena! Glad to see you in the blogging world – I’m excited to see how your socks turn out! I’ve been thinking of taking the plunge into toe-up socks with that pattern from Wendy.

    Karen (from Knit Night!)

  2. Lolly May 23, 2007 at 8:48 am #

    Sounds lovely! very creative of you! I really love working with Trekking, it is one of my favorites. Looking forward to your progress 🙂

  3. Elke May 23, 2007 at 3:40 pm #

    I’m really looking forward to seeing this design. I’m so in awe of your knitterly prowess! Does trekking work up nice and soft? I’ve been very tempted to try it, and I like the dye style you chose for its short color runs.

Thoughts?

